United African Organization

One Africa Campaign

One Africa: Tell the US Government that North Africa is Africa too!

Please click here to sign the petition to the White House and State Department:

Sign the Petition→

Map of Africa

Join us: Petition the U.S. Department of State to include the whole African continent under its Bureau of African Affairs.


The State Department’s Bureau of African Affairs, led by Assistant Secretary Johnnie Carson, currently excludes Algeria, Egypt, Libya, Morocco, Tunisia and Western Sahara from its agenda. Instead, the aforementioned countries are grouped with the Bureau of Near Eastern Affairs, together with Iran, Iraq, Israel and others.

This artificial distinction between North Africa and the rest of Africa negatively impacts US foreign policy relations throughout the entire continent of Africa.

We unequivocally reject the argument that North African countries are outside the scope of African affairs.

North Africa is geographically and historically part of the African continent, and all fifty-three (53) independent African states, including North African countries, are represented in the African Union (AU).

It would be far more productive for the State Department to engage with the entire continent of Africa, including North Africa, under its Bureau of African Affairs.

We are one Africa, from the Cape to Cairo, indivisible and bound together! Therefore, no square inch of African land should be excluded from African affairs.

What can we do?

Join the UAO in petitioning the U.S. Department of State to include the entire continent of Africa under its Bureau of African Affairs!